Lab Setup Using Hyper-V


I bought a new machine last week just before New Year to setup a Test Lab at home. My initial thought was to run the Hyper-V 2008 R2 server on it. For the complete Hardware requirement to run the Hyper-V 2008 R2 server, click here.  The configuration of my machine is:

  • Intel Core-i7 2600K processor
  • ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 motherboard
  • 2TB Seagate Hard disk (7200RPM, 6GBps)
  • 16GB of RAM

I had installed Hyper-V 2008 R2 server on this machine; however, I had an issue with the on board Network adapter as it was not detected by the Hyper-V 2008 R2 server. After searching for a while in the forum, I came to know that most onboard network adapters (on desktop board) don’t have a suitable driver for Hyper-V 2008 R2 server, although the driver for Windows7 might work with the full version.

To give a try, I formatted my machine, and installed Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise Edition (180 days trial version) and enabled Hyper-V role; however the driver didn’t work. Later while searching in the Intel forum, I found this post, which provides a workaround to fix the issue, and I was able to install the driver.

As I am new to Hyper-V, currently I am going through the documentation available on the TechNet website. More on this later.

About Sudeepta Ganguly

A SQL Server User... Still Learning
This entry was posted in HyperV, TestLab. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

