Failed Job Issue


This morning I received a mail from one of our customer stating that a SQL Server job failed many times on last Friday; however, he didn’t receive any notification about it. For a moment, I thought that I had missed to notify the customer about the failed job. I checked the job history and confirmed that the job was failed four times on last Friday and I had no clue about it. Then I started to look at all the events generated by the Operation Manager on last Friday for the same server. To my surprise, there were no alerts from that server.

Next thing, I wanted to check is the Notification tab in the Job’s Properties. FailedJob And as I thought, the checkbox next to Write to the Windows Application event log was unchecked. That’s why the failed job event was not written to the Windows event log and Operation Manager Agent was not able to display any alert on the console.

Hope this may help someone Smile Happy Learning Smile

About Sudeepta Ganguly

A SQL Server User... Still Learning
This entry was posted in How To, Jobs, Just Learned, SQL Server and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Failed Job Issue

  1. Sergio Gonzalez says:

    I am looking for a script that will help me locate agent jobs that are set up without this notification so I don’t have to search every job in my organization manually. You wouldn’t happen to know where I could start, or even have a script ready to go, would you?

  2. Pingback: Failed Job Notification To Event Log | SQL…. Still Learning

Leave a Reply

